my year in books

one hundred in twenty-sixteen

Who would have thought I could read one hundred books last year? Compared to the years when reading 100 books for me is typical, completing my reading challenge for 2016 is a feat. I had a bad reading slump the year prior so I wasn’t very keen in finishing the challenge. I wasn’t even expecting to finish ten books! With the baby coming, work and all changes that comes with being a mother, I knew finding time to read is next to impossible so whenever I have a miraculous me time, all I do is read and read and read and viola! I finished a hundred books!

100books_2

Most of the books I read were fantasy, science fiction or dystopia which is surprising because I don’t read those genres so much before. I can also count in my hands and feet the romance novels I read last year, a shock to my reader friends since they expected I would go back to gobbling up romance novels but after years of reading too much romance, I outgrew the genre. I find myself reading genres I don’t read before, books you wouldn’t think I would ever read and more of locally published novels. 2016 is a year of discoveries both in my life and reading.

Of course, a year in books post won’t be complete without listing my best and worst(s) reads, right?

Keep the Faith by Ana Tejano, the second romance class novella that made me cry. As I said I read a lot of romance (with a lot of drama at times) but only a few made me shed a tear or two. If you ever had your heartbroken or in a moving on phase, you have to pick this up.

World After (Penryn & the End of Days, #2) by Susan Ee, I never like reading the second installment of a well-received first book in a series. Most of the time it won’t live up to the expectation following the first book yet Susan Ee proved otherwise. World After is soooo much better than Angelfall and mind you, I loved the first book.

Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle, #1) by Jay Kristoff, the first 30-40% was so dragging, I almost dropped it. This was the first Kristoff book I read so I am not familiar with his writing style. I got used to it eventually, though one need to have the patience to get through it, once I was past that, OMG, I adored Nevernight. This is one of the best novels I read this year.

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2) by V.E. Schwab, Ugh. I need the book 3 of this NOW. Too bad I still have a few more months to wait for its release. I. CAN’T. WAIT.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas, I read all of Sarah J. Maas’ novels last year. Although many got turned off with her other series and her stories are somewhat similar with her other books (same theme and genre), aCoMaF is her best work so far. I just hope the next book won’t be another Heir of Fire for that’s going to be utterly disappointing.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel, watching the Korean movie The Flu made me read Station Eleven and I realized reading a post-apocalyptic novel book about zombies is a lot easier to take in than reading about a pandemic you have no control of stopping. I had an irrational fear of people sneezing or coughing in a public place for months. I was like, “What if it’s a deadly virus with no cure? OMG. I don’t want to die yet.” I know. Crazy, right?

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1) by Amy Kauffman, you want a pretty book? You should get the print copy of this series. Too bad I read the Kindle copy though it did not diminish how smart it was written. If you’re tired of reading the usual narrative, this novel is a breath of fresh air. I’d get my physical copies of book 1 and 2 when NBS will have their warehouse sale. Shelling out 1k+ is a no-no, no matter how awesome this series is.

The Princess by Lori Wick, this novel surprised me. I was binge-reading modern royalty themed books when I read this, the difference was it’s a Christian novel. I don’t usually read romance Christian books because they have the tendency to be so preachy. It’s a struggle reading this book if you’re not religious. What I like about The Princess is it has a balance between prayers, love and heart

BABY DADDY by Eve Montelibano, I ended up wasting my time reading this. I used to like the author when she was still writing for PHR years ago. I guess her writing style changed so is my reading palate. There are things in the story I strongly do not like, the characters are one-dimensional, and the flashy plot, setting and backstory are just too dreamy and unrealistic. Fine, it’s romance fiction however a line between what is contemporary from fantasy should be drawn somewhere.

Eona: The Last Dragoneye (Eon, #2) by Alison Goodman, I wanted to hurl my kindle across the room out of frustration after reading this. I hate Eona. She’s the worst heroine I have the misfortune of reading in 2016. Being a minority of a novel with an average rating of 4.12, with over 30k+ readers made me question what’s wrong with me when my reader friends are all singing praises for this series. As I have said in a status update when I was reading this, “Ang sarap mong ipakain sa dragon, Eona.”

You can check the complete list of the books I read in 2016 here. I won’t be ambitious with my reading challenge for 2017. I’m aiming for 12 books for now. Who knows I might end up reading one hundred again.

with love,
A.

100books

Author: Alona

A mother in an adventure of finding peace, love and happiness.

1 thought on “my year in books”

Leave a Reply

