it’s /ˈflāmi/

i repeat “fley•mi”

If you can’t still say it right, here’s how you should read/pronounce it:

FLEY • MI

All clear?

It irritates me to no end whenever someone mispronounce my daughter’s name. I often hear people say it as FLA • MI, sounds as the “fla” in flower. I know her name is unusual but if you can’t read it correctly, you can always just ask me, right? *makes face*

There was even a time when I was talking with an agent over the phone for her health card, I already said the name as “fley • mi” only to hear her read it back as “fla • mi”. If I were the agent’s QA, she’ll surely get a mark off on active listening. I know there are people who would ask how I say it first but there are others who will not. This rant may sound absurd to you, but believe me you’ll understand me if you have a difficult name to pronounce or you are a mom.

-wl, a

Here’s the latest picture of the little girl at ten months in pigtails, telling you how to say her name correctly:


Author: Alona

A mother in an adventure of finding peace, love and happiness.

Leave a Reply

